Wednesday

By: geb0541

Jul 14 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:6.2mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot SD1200 IS

This morning was really cool! The WJMC students were the studio audience for today’s live taping of C-SPAN “Washington Journal” show and a Q&A with Brian Lamb show. Even though some of the students had been a part of a studio audience before, I never have. So it was really cool for me to be able to see what goes on that doesn’t make it onto television, like the different camera angles the director gets to choose from, and the hand signals the crew uses to communicate with those actually on the show.

I had never had any interest in politics before, and I really didn’t understand it, but I found myself completely engrossed in what they were saying. I think that the teachers and staff here at WJMC did a great job preparing usfor the show- I know my teacher taught us al about what’s going on with the debt ceiling, and other current issues- so that we could ask legitimate questions. And I think we did! I know I was very happy with what was said and asked, knowing that they represented our generation well. They proved to anyone who might watch the show that people our age can be informed and very bright.

Later today, we had some time to tour a Smithsonian museum, and it was very nice to have some time off. However, at the  end of the touring time, we got caught in a crazy rainstorm! There was some thunder, but mostly it just pored buckets. Almost every one of us was soaked, and the few who were dry got some glares, I think. It was definitely a bonding experience to take fifty soaking wet students on an hour-long busride.

Leave a Reply

